Author Topic: New EDF powered fast-electric boat project  (Read 11208 times)

New EDF powered fast-electric boat project

« on: 14 October, 2019, 04:34:40 AM »
Open quickbuttons

a.flynn

• "blag-it" Forum Higher Member
  • Personal Text
    Certified “blag-it” member
Hi to all on the forum.  For what it's worth I've just started a new fast-electric boat project that will be powered by an electric ducted fan, or EDF.  So far I've just ordered the hull which is 3 foot long and have done a rough plan.  See images below.  Anyway, any ideas, pointers appreciated!  Thanks.

Re: New EDF powered fast-electric boat project

« Reply #1 on: 14 October, 2019, 04:49:22 AM »
Open quickbuttons

McGaskil

Male
  • Personal Text
Nice idea, :) but why an EDF over a regular prop, and what sort of performance are you aiming at.  Also any stats like length of hull, etc?

« Reply #2 on: 14 October, 2019, 05:13:50 AM »
Open quickbuttons

blag-it Admin

• Forum Admin

Male
I'm no expert on fe-boats although I did build an rc electric boat a looong time ago which was a sort of tug boat...  Going by the first image it looks about 30-odd inches long?  I would suggest as powerful an EDF as possible (budget allowing...) for a hull that sort of size, which atm doesn't include the deck or anything else, to get reasonable performance, so for an fe-boat 45+mph minimum.

« Reply #3 on: 14 October, 2019, 07:30:17 AM »
Open quickbuttons

cybernut

Male
  • Personal Text